‘Pebbles,’ ‘The Puppy Who Would not Be Quiet’ Win Top Prizes in Rotterdam

Indian drama “Pebbles,” by Vinothraj P.S., received the principal competitors Tiger Award at this year’s Global Film Pageant Rotterdam (IFFR) on Sunday. Taking the top prize in the Major Screen Levels of competition sidebar was Argentine filmmaker Ana Katz’s “The Dog Who Wouldn’t Be Peaceful.”

Set from a backdrop of grinding poverty and drought-stricken villages in southern India, “Pebbles” follows a troubled father, offended that his spouse has left him, and his young son as they embark on a complicated journey through desolate landscapes on just one of the most popular days of the year.

“In the midst of a lot of admirable and ambitious works, the jury was blown away by a seemingly very simple and humble movie we fell in love with instantly,” the Tiger Award jury mentioned. “Creating a greatest effect with a minimal in means, the filmmaker reaches his objective with the exact same conviction and dedication as his primary figures. The consequence is a lesson in pure cinema, captivating us with its beauty and humor, in spite of its grim matter.”

French director Pascal Tagnati’s feature movie debut, “I Comete − A Corsican Summer season,” about the locals of a Corsican village, and Norika Sefa’s Kosovar drama “Looking for Venera” received Tiger Competitiveness Specific Jury Awards.

The jury explained “I Comete – A Corsican Summer” as “a correct adore letter of humanity introduced to us through a refreshing seem on modern cinema,” though praising “Looking for Venera” for its “purposeful restraint and unassuming sincerity” in the way it captures “an intimate slice of life” by means of its camera perform and seem.

The Tiger Award contains a €40,000 ($48,196) prize to be divided between filmmaker and producer, when the Unique Jury Awards are each individual value €10,000 ($12,049).

Lazy loaded image

“The Dog Who Would not Be Quiet”

Shot in black and white, “The Pet Who Would not Be Quiet” follows a younger person, devoted to his loyal pet dog, as he haltingly initiates adulthood, navigating really like, loss and fatherhood. The film amazed the jury with “a good opening scene” and the director’s “radical alternatives relating to narrative, construction and cinematography.”

Sponsored by Dutch pubcaster VPRO, the prize features a €30,000 ($36,147) award and assures theatrical launch and Television set broadcast in the Netherlands.

Bosnian filmmaker Jasmila Žbanić nabbed the BankGiro Loterij Viewers Award for her Bosnian War drama “Quo vadis, Aida?,” which unspooled in the fest’s Limelight portion.

The pageant also introduced U.S. filmmaker Kelly Reichardt with its next once-a-year Robby Müller Award, named immediately after the late Dutch cinematographer.

“We see in Kelly Reichardt, not just a liberating independence and clarity of aesthetic vision, but also someone who, in a self-apparent way, carries on Robby Müller’s legacy,” the jury reported.

Reichardt’s hottest perform, the western drama “First Cow,” unspooled in Limelight.

“In these most difficult of moments, we are amazingly proud to have brought an outstanding assortment of titles in our reimagined festival format,” stated pageant director Vanja Kaludjercic.

“The expanded Tiger Competition incorporated 16 films that mirror the plurality of voices and visions of talent that will carry on to deliver excellent cinema for a long time to appear. What we learned from this expertise is that as resilient as the market is, so are our audiences who totally embraced and celebrated the first chapter of this year’s pageant.”

Compelled on the internet this 12 months because of to the pandemic, IFFR organizers break up this year’s fest into two elements. The second element will consider put June 2-6 and is set to incorporate physical theatrical presentations and a extra festive celebration that will comprise the new Harbour showcase as well as the Shiny Futures sidebar.

Marking her initial yr as festival director, Kaludjercic pressured the great importance of holding at least the initially element of the competition at the get started of the calendar year inspite of the ongoing COVID-19 crisis.

“The Rotterdam Movie Competition holds an critical place on the global calendar. It’s quite appropriate for filmmakers to get the exposure, to get this minute of consideration from not only the audience but the global business as perfectly.”

Kaludjercic included: “I’m so grateful for everything that our staff initial and foremost had to prepare to make this pageant transpire. We experienced to adapt in so many diverse approaches. But what is unbelievable to see is how movie enthusiasts – our viewers – have tailored as properly.”

The comprehensive list of winners are below:

TIGER Competitors

Tiger Award: “Pebbles,” by Vinothraj P.S.

Specific Jury Award: “I Comete – A Corsican Summertime,” by Pascal Tagnati

Particular Jury Award: “Looking for Venera,” by Norika Sefa

Major Display screen Opposition

VPRO Massive Display screen Award: “The Puppy Who Would not Be Peaceful,” by Ana Katz

AMMODO TIGER Brief Opposition

Ammodo Tiger Small Award: “Sunsets, Everyday” by Basir Mahmood

Ammodo Tiger Shorter Award: “Terranova” by Alejandro Pérez Serrano and Alejandro Alonso Estrella

Ammodo Tiger Brief Award: “Maat Implies Land,” by Fox Maxy


Robby Müller Award: Kelly Reichardt

BankGiro Loterij Viewers Award: “Quo vadis, Aida? by Jasmila Žbanić

FIPRESCI Award: “The Edge of Daybreak,” by Taiki Sakpisit

KNF Award: “Manifesto,” by Ane Hjort Guttu

Youth Jury Award: “La nuit des rois,” by Philippe Lacôte